Welcome to the State of Iowa Business
Tax online registration system. After reading these instructions carefully, click the "Start" button at the bottom
of this page to begin.
- At the top of the Business Ownership screen (Step 2) you will first be presented with a button that says Get PIN. Please click on this button to obtain your UserID and PIN which may be used to re-access a saved application within the next 7 days.
Iowa Smokefree Air Act
To learn more about your responsibilities,
visit the Iowa Department
of Public Health
Web site or call them at 1-888-944-2247.
Web Browser Requirements
Your current browser
does not meet the required minimum
configuration. You will need to upgrade to version Internet
explorer 4.0 or better or Netscape
4.0 or better to use this resource without any problems.
You may register for the following
Iowa permits online:
- Sales Tax
- Automobile Rental Tax
- Hotel/Motel Tax
- Household Hazardous Materials
- Out-Of-State Retailer's use Tax
- Withholding Tax
- Corporation Income Tax
- Partnership Income Tax
|You may register for the following
types of businesses:
- Sole Proprietor
- Limited Liability
- Limited Liability
|Before you begin, please have
the following information ready:
- Federal Employers
ID Number (FEIN), if applicable
owners and their Social Security Number(s) (SSN)
you are unable to complete this process in one sitting
your information is saved at the completion
of each step, and you can quit at any time. You will be assigned
a UserID and PIN immediately. If you cannot complete the application,
you will use that information to access your partially completed
applications within 7 days of beginning the process. Partially
completed application will be deleted after 7 days.
has been divided into six simple steps.
Be sure to complete
all six steps. Your USERID and PIN will be made available
after you complete the business information step (Step 1).
- Step 1: Business
- Step 2: Business
- Step 3: Business
- Step 4: Tax Registration
- Step 5: Application
- Step 6: Sign and
Submit the Application
Use the Help
Icon located at the top right corner of every page to view questions
and answers associated with that page, or to submit your own question.
Within 4-6 weeks you will receive
in the mail:
When you finish registering, print a copy of the summary screen for your records.
- Sales Tax & Retailer's Use Tax : A letter containing your Business eFile Number (BEN), your permit number, and a printed permit.
- Consumer's Use Tax & Withholding: A letter containing your Business eFile Number (BEN) and your permit number. The letter will not include a printed permit.